Japanese Breakfast Declares New Album Anniversary, Shares Video for New Music “Be Candy”: Watch

Michelle Zauner has announced her third Japanese breakfast album: Jubilee will be released on June 4th via Dead Oceans. Zauner also shared the self-directed music video for the lead single “Be Sweet”. The picture shows Zauner and Mannequin Pussys Missy as X-Files agents investigating the paranormal. See below.

“After spending the last five years writing about grief, I wanted our follow-up to be about joy,” Zauner said in a statement. “A third record should feel bombastic to me, and that’s why I wanted to pull out all the stops for it. I wrote ‘Be Sweet’ with Jack Tatum from Wild Nothing a few years ago. I’ve held onto it for so long and I’m so excited to finally bring it out. “

Jubilee follows Zauner’s 2017 album Soft Sounds from Another Planet. “I wanted to take it as far as possible, invite more people and myself as a composer, producer, arranger,” she said of the process behind her new record.

In addition to the new album, Zauner will publish her memoir Crying in H Mart on April 20th. The book is an extension of her 2018 piece for The New Yorker of the same name.


01 peppers
02 be cute
03 Kokomo, IN
04 Slide tackle
05 Posing in bondage
06 sit down
07 Wild good boy
08 In hell
09 tactics
10 Posing for Cars

Comments are closed.